Alberta is a province in Western Canada. Its landscape encompasses mountains, prairies, desert badlands and vast coniferous forests. It has more than 600 lakes, and rich mineral deposits. In the west, the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks have glaciers in the Columbia Icefields. The Waterton Glacier International Peace Park is a biosphere reserve that straddles the southern border with the USA.

   Coat of arms of Alberta
Alberta’s rural communities are friendly and accommodating. It is a province in Western Canada. Many offer the same services and facilities (hospitals, schools, recreation centers and parks) you would find in larger cities, while also offering a relaxed pace of life.


Find Study opportunities in Alberta, the province in Western Canada

Flag of Alberta
Image result

More about Alberta

Confederation September 1, 1905 (split from Northwest Territories) (11th)
Capital Edmonton
Largest city Calgary
Largest metro Calgary Region
 • Type
 • Lieutenant Governor Lois Mitchell
 • Premier Rachel Notley (NDP)
Legislature Legislative Assembly of Alberta
Federal representation (in Canadian Parliament)
House seats 34 of 338 (10.1%)
Senate seats
 • Total 661,848 km2 (255,541 sq mi)
 • Land 640,081 km2 (247,137 sq mi)
 • Water 19,531 km2 (7,541 sq mi)  3%
Area rank Ranked 6th
  6.6% of Canada
Population (2016)
 • Total 4,067,175 [1]
 • Estimate (2017 Q1) 4,280,127 [2]
 • Rank Ranked 4th
 • Density 6.4/km2 (17/sq mi)
Demonym(s) Albertan
Official languages English[3]
 • Rank 3rd
 • Total (2015) C$326.433 billion[4]
 • Per capita C$78,100 (2nd)
Time zone Mountain: UTC-7, (DST−6)