Coat of arms of New Brunswick
New Brunswick is the largest of Canada’s three Maritime provinces.

It is located under Quebec’s Gaspé Peninsula and beside the State of Maine.

New Brunswick was one of the first provinces, along with Ontario,Québec and Nova Scotia, to join together to form the Dominion ofCanada in 1867.  New Brunswick has experienced immigration on a smaller scale from all over the world, and today boasts a varied and increasingly multicultural population. 

Find Study opportunities in New Brunswick

Flag of New Brunswick
Canadian Provinces and Territories

More about New Brunswick

July 1, 1867 (1st, with ON, QC, NS)
Capital Fredericton
Largest city Moncton
Largest metro Greater Moncton
 • Type Constitutional monarchy
 • Lieutenant Governor Jocelyne Roy-Vienneau
 • Premier Brian Gallant(Liberal)
Legislature Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Federal representation (in Canadian Parliament)
House seats 10 of 338 (3%)
Senate seats 10 of 105 (9.5%)
 • Total 72,908 km2(28,150 sq mi)
 • Land 71,450 km2(27,590 sq mi)
 • Water 1,458 km2(563 sq mi)  2%
Area rank Ranked 11th
  0.7% of Canada
Population (2016)
 • Total 747,101 [2]
 • Estimate (2017 Q1) 757,771 [3]
 • Rank Ranked 8th
 • Density 10.5/km2 (27/sq mi)
Demonym(s) New Brunswicker 
FR: Néo-Brunswickois(e)
Official languages
  • English
  • French
 • Rank 9th
 • Total (2011) C$32.180 billion[4]
 • Per capita C$42,606 (11th)
Time zone Atlantic: UTC-4
Postal abbr. NB
Postal code prefix E
ISO 3166 code CA-NB
Flower Purple violet
Tree Balsam fir
Bird Black-capped chickadee